A Totally Non-Denominational Prayer

“Insofar as I may be heard by anything, which may or may not care what I say, I ask, if it matters, that I be forgiven for anything I may have done or failed to do which requires forgiveness. Conversely, if not forgiveness but something else may be required to insure any possible benefit for which I may be eligible after the destruction of my body, I ask that this, whatever it may be, be granted or withheld, as the case may be, in such a manner as to insure said benefit. I ask this in my capacity as your elected intermediary between yourself and that which may not be yourself, but which may have an interest in the matter of your receiving as much as it is possible for you to receive of this thing, and which may in some way be influenced by this ceremony. Amen.”

― Roger Zelazny, Creatures of Light and Darkness

USA - 1997: Hiram Henriquez color illustration of hand of God reaching to touch three human hands. Can be used with stories about cloning. (The Miami Herald/MCT via Getty Images)
USA – 1997: Hiram Henriquez color illustration of hand of God reaching to touch three human hands. (The Miami Herald/MCT via Getty Images)
3 thoughts on “A Totally Non-Denominational Prayer

  1. This really hits home.

    I was influenced by (force-fed) religion until I was twenty-one, and then I walked away, but in complete ignorance of why I was walking away: I just knew something was wrong with the mass, confessions and flat, tasteless wafers, while my friends were murdering and being murdered in Vietnam.

    Years later, when I was in my mid-thirties, I fell back into this kind of religiosity, out of guilt. And I pursued it for seventeen years, but more from a theological perspective than spiritual. And then, I walked away from it again fifteen years ago. The second walking away, in comparison to the first, had come with much more knowledge and understanding. And the second was the final walking away.

    But to this day, I still struggle when I am concerned for my self and others. There is a part of me that wants to seek something higher, when I am fearful for my self or for others.

    And this quote kind of sums up the mental and emotional gymnastics I go through at these moments.

    I don’t know if this is still the deprogramming taking place, or if the universe is calling out to me, or what?

    Oh yeah, and I still can’t buy into the theory that all of this came about by chance. I think I’ll go have a drink;-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing that story! Yes, so many of us know the feeling of being torn between the calling of the Universe, and the inability to accept a pre-made boxed solution to the mysteries of the most high. I write about my own breakup with religion here: https://eaawilson.wordpress.com/2015/01/15/god-man-or-not-god-man-those-are-your-choices-2/

      The troublesome thing is, we are taught that “these are your choices. Pick one. God-man or not God-man”. We are not taught to think – and I don’t mean the churning of thoughts in our busy mind, but true, deep and curious thinking about the big questions we’re all born to ask. It’s easy to dismiss religion as outdated when you read a book that was written thousands of years ago as an attempt to answer some very complex questions in a pre-scientific age, then edited, amended and twisted to suit fluctuating political and social needs over the eons. Delving deeper into the real messages of all religions, and looking at it from a metaphysical aspect reveals some bigger truths that are universal in nature, and that modern science and philosophy condone. Ritual, superstition and tradition become less important then, when we see the connection between the spiritual, the scientific, and ourselves.

      Like you, I’ll probably keep searching until I pop my clogs and head off for the next adventure, whatever that may be. But then, you know what, isn’t that what LIFE is all about? The search? I’m enjoying it anyway. 🙂

      Thanks again for sharing!

      E.A.A. Wilson

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

